book reviews, Book Series, books, Star Wars

Why Star Wars Books?

Well, this question is easy for me to answer. If you’re new around here, you might have noticed a trend as of late as to what I have been reading. Let’s just say, I jumped on the book train in the Star Wars Universe and I have been unable to get off it!

There’s just so much out there besides the new canon novels and, I must say, it’s a lot of fun reading about what all these different authors think about my favorite characters and what circumstances they should be in. Not only that, but seeing all the characters that they brilliantly came up with who are canon or not, but add such great depth to the stories. I’ve read more canon so far than extended universe/legends but, let’s just say, it has been a blast.

There’s so much that the Star Wars books offer in terms of reading. They’re entertaining, there’s love, there’s sci-fi elements, battles, and there are some amazing characters that you can’t stop reading. If you’re looking for a niche of books that offer such a diverse and interesting subject, you really can’t go wrong in diving in.

Now, if you were to ask me where to start, I wouldn’t know where to tell you. When it comes to Legends, I’ve seen people do it chronologically or just dive into a certain series. Here’s where I stand in my Star Wars reading so far so you can see what I’ve decided to dive into:

Phasma by Delilah S. Dawson
Spark of the Resistance by Justina Ireland
Heirs of the Force by Kevin J. Anderson
Shadow Academy by Kevin J. Anderson
Thrawn by Timothy Zahn
Thrawn: Alliances by Timothy Zahn
Heir to the Empire by Timothy Zahn
The Force Awakens (novelization) by Alan Dean Foster
Leia: Princess of Alderaan by Claudia Gray
A New Dawn by John Jackson Miller
Ahsoka by E. K. Johnston

They’ve been some great reads so far but I have a long way to go to read what’s new in canon and what came before. If you’ve read any books so far, where did you start or what did you enjoy most? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment